

Amy Walker, PhD, Chair Amy. Walker@umassmed.edu

Susan Feeney, DNP, APRN, Vice Chair Susan.Feeney@umassmed.edu

faculty.council@umassmed.edu

# FACULTY COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES February 6, 2025

#### **INVITEES/ATTENDEES**

Officers/Rules Committee	Voting Members 1	Voting Members 2	Non-Voting Members 1	Non-Voting Members 2
Walker, Amy (Chair)	Abdennur, Nezar	Hill, Cheyanne	Acosta, Alan	Kedian, Tracy
Feeney, Susan (Vice Chair)	Agenello, Emily	Huang, Judy	Ahn, Mary	Lane, Mary Ellen
Lauer, Emily (Secretary)	Almeida, Sandra	Kamil, Syed	Alexander, Jacob	Lanzillotti, Patricia
	Amenta, Peter	Korostelev, Andrei	Barnett, William K	Larkin, Anne
	Anandakugan, Nillani	Lauer, Emily PhD	Berryman, Jennifer	Lewis, Brian
	Aronowitz, Jesse	Li, Shaoguang	Catanzano, Tara	Lindstedt, John
	Benanti, Jennifer	Lindholm, Mary	Chakrabarti, Partha	Luzuriaga, Katherine
	Binder, Zach	MacLean, Ashley	Chisholm, Brendan H.	Maki, Kristen
	Blehar, David, MD	Matheos, Theofilos	Collins, Michael	Mattocks, Kristin
	Bolon, Daniel	Menard, Alexander	Dickson, Eric	McMaster, Erin
	Bouzan, Nicole K	Mitchell, Amir, PhD	Duncan, Marlina	Munshi, Nishkurit
	Bucci, Vanni	Moormann, Ann	Flotte, Terence	Munson, Mary
	Chan, Wayne	Osa-Agbontaen, Elizabeth	Garcia, Maria	Piorun, Mary
	Cleveland, Sarah\	Reboldi, Andrea	Gebhardt, James	Plasse, Mechelle
	Crist, Michelle	Sadasivam, Rajani	Giannaris, Eustathia Lela	Potts, Stacy
	Day, Philip	Shank, Elizabeth	Green, Emily	Precourt, Justin
	Fantasia, Jennifer	Thomson, Travis	Grunwald, Michael	Rosal, Milagros
	Gkrouzman, Elena	Timpson, Wendy	Hayes, John	Teng, Christopher
	Gutierruz, Nuria Martinez	Waweru, Jacqueline	Healy, James	Vitello, Joan
	Hamar, Benjamin	Wessolossky, Mireya	Johnson, Mark	Zai, Adrian H
		Guest	Lilly, Craig	Yalamanchili, Abhi
			Das, Ananya	Singer, Josha

Dr. Amy Walker called the meeting to order.

## STANDING REPORTS

## Chancellor's Updates

Dr. Collins announced that after more than 12 years of service at the Medical School, Greg Wolf, chief information officer, will retire in February. Greg joined UMass Chan in 2013 and revolutionized our information technology services during his tenure. We are sad to see him leave but we are thrilled to welcome Lee Leiber, who will be UMass Chan's new chief information officer beginning the last week of March. Lee joins us from Baylor College of Medicine in Houston, where he has served as the chief information officer for eight years.

Dr. Collins announced that the 37th Annual Tribute to Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King, JR. was terrific this year. Imari K. Paris Jeffries, Ph.D. the President and CEO of Embrace Boston was the 2025 Martin Luther King Celebration of Service keynote speaker on Monday, Jan. 27th. Dr. Jeffries leads a citywide racial equity transformation initiative through The Embrace monument, and the Embrace Center. He emphasized the interconnectedness of life and democracy while here on campus.

Dr. Collins also mentioned he had the privilege to present the 2025 Chancellor's Award for Advancing Institutional Excellence in Diversity, Equity and Inclusion to Paul Charles, director of the Baccalaureate MD Pathway Program in the T.H. Chan School of Medicine. Paul's been a terrific leader for our institution, and he has been mentoring and nurturing aspiring physicians from underrepresented and marginalized groups since 2016. Dr. Collins also thanked Dr. Duncan and the Diversity and Inclusion Office for putting this event on every year, and for the work they do throughout the institution.

Dr. Collins stated that he will be going to Washington next Wednesday with the UMass President and the other 4 Chancellors to meet with the Congressional delegation concerning the new National Institutes of Health indirect costs rate cap.

Dr. Collins announced that Match Day 2025 will take place on Friday, March 21, 2025.

### Provost & Dean Updates

Dr Flotte welcomed the new Chair of Ophthalmology, Chris Teng, MD to the UMass Chan Medical School. Dr. Flotte also thanked Johanna Seddon, MD, ScM, professor of ophthalmology & visual sciences, for her leadership while serving as the interim chair of the department and residency program.

Dr. Flotte announced that they have begun the process for the next five-year Strategic Plan, which will be from 2025 through 2030. Drs. David McManus and Marian Walhout will be co-chairing the steering committee. We have done a significant amount of prework to understand what we achieved during Impact 2025. The institution weathered the Pandemic, received a \$175 million donation, an additional donation for endowed chairs, Dr. Ambros received the Nobel Prize, and several new programs and departments were established. The process will kick off sometime in April or May.

## Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs Updates

Dr. Ahn gave a brief presentation for her updates.

#### **BRIEF DISCUSSION AND VOTE: MINUTES**

Having determined a quorum was met, the meeting minutes from the January meeting were approved.

#### **PRESENTATIONS**

#### Nomination Committee Representatives/Process

Dr. Mary Ahn gave a presentation on the Nomination Committee's proposed representatives and process. Motion to approve the proposed nomination committee representatives; Motion approved

#### Intellectual Property Committee (IPC) Committee Update

Dr. Craig Lilly gave a presentation on the IPC committee updates.

## Information Technology Committee (ITC) Report

Dr. Adrian Zai gave a presentation on the ITC committee's mission, goals, and current projects.

Meeting adjourned.