

The Ellinwood Annual Lecture in Vascular Surgery

The Annual Ellinwood Lecture in Vascular Surgery was made possible by a generous gift of Joseph Ellinwood and his family. Twenty-seven years ago, Dr. Bruce Cutler repaired his ruptured aneurysm. To express his appreciation, Mr. Ellinwood told Dr. Cutler that he was interested in donating funds to encourage teaching, research, and an annual lectureship that emphasized personal interactions between students, residents, and attending surgeons with a visiting professor. This gift has made it possible for us to bring annually an internationally recognized vascular scholar to UMass Medical Center. Each lecturer has provided a stimulating presentation and educational experience throughout the day for students, residents, and faculty.

Previous Ellinwood O'Brien Visiting Professors

D. Eugene Strandness, Jr, MD

Seattle, WA - 1992

Robert Rutherford, MD Denver, CO - 1993

Jesse Thompson, MD Dallas, TX - 1994

J. Leonel Villavicencio, MD Bethesda, MD - 1995

John Porter, MD Portland, OR - 1996

H. Brownell Wheeler, MD Worcester, MA - 1997

Bruce Gwertz, MD Chicago, IL - 1998

Alexander Clowes, MD Seattle, WA - 1999

Lazar Greenfield, MD Ann Arbor, MI - 2000

John Bergan, MD La Jolla, CA - 2001

K. Wayne Johnston, MD Toronto, Ontario - 2002

James Seeger, MD Gainesville, FL - 2003

Jack Cronenwett, MD Lebanon, NH - 2004

John Hallett, MD Charleston, SC - 2005

Robert Zwolak, MD Lebanon, NH - 2006 Peter Schneider, MD Honolulu, HI - 2007

Roy Greenberg, MD Cleveland, OH - 2008

Michael Belkin, MD Boston, MA - 2009

Julie Freischlag, MD Baltimore, MD - 2010

Anton Sidawy, MD Washington, DC - 2011

Michel Makaroun, MD Pittsburgh, PA - 2012

Stéphan Haulon, MD, PhD Lille, France - 2013

Timothy Resch, MD, PhD Malmo, Sweden - 2014

Gustavo Oderich, MD Rochester, MN - 2015

K. Craig Kent, MD Madison, WI - 2016

Amy Reed, MD Chicago, IL - 2017

Michael Conte, MD San Francisco, CA - 2018

Peter Gloviczki, MD Rochester, MN - 2019

Malachi G. Sheahan III, MD Marrero, Louisiana - 2020

Dawn M. Colman, MD Ann Arbor, MI - 2022 Thomas Forbes, MD Toronto, Ontario, Canada -2023

Robert W. Thompson St Louis, MO - 2024

Audra Duncan, MD London, Ontario, Canada -2025